Second Try

I was disappointed by my first effort. I decided that for my second effort, I would go with the woman who inspired me to do this in the first place – Gluten Free Girl, Shauna James Ahren.

I’ve been reading her book “Gluten-Free Girl: How I Found the Food that Loves Me Back”, and besides being a lovely walk into the journey of her life, is chock full of enticing recipes. I had earmarked twenty different recipes I wanted to try, but I decided to start with her Cream of Mushroom Soup.

I went to the store to get the ingredients.

Unsalted butter. I don’t like unsalted butter. But lots of people much better at cooking than me say that it is important so that you can control the amount of salt in the food. Ok, leap of faith, I bought it.

Kosher salt. I’ve never liked this either, but again, many people much smarter about food than me say that it kosher is best for cooking. I bought it.

High-quality olive oil. Shauna talks beautifully about the many olive oils out there and why it is important to invest in several types of high quality oil. Standing in the aisle of my generic grocery store, I looked at (for me) very expensive olive oils. I studied the labels. I decided on the organic one, thinking that its probably hard to get pesticides off olives and I don’t need any more poison. I bought my first $17 bottle of olive oil.

Garlic, mushrooms, onion, carrot, celery, fresh thyme, dry sherry, and cream.

I got it home, and put it all on the stove top to look at. It was beautiful.

I started chopping, then cooking. Mixing. Smelling. It’s delightful. I am in the middle of getting ready to move and had packed my immersion blender. I rummaged through boxes, thinking of of Julie (of Julie/Julia) doing a similar thing and feeling wryly amused, til I found it. I blended the soup, tasted it and really wasn’t sure. Was this going to be ok?

I added two cups of cream, then salt and pepper. Tasted it again. Oh, yeah, it was good. I ladeled it into a bowl, and drizzled some very expensive olive oil and a bit of cream over the top, and topped with two sprigs of fresh thyme.

It was heaven.

And completely gluten free.

I can do this.

Later…Unfortunately, I think the cream was way too rich on my already over taxed system. It tasted amazing, but sadly my body didn’t do too well with it. Le sigh. Me and food.

