On the Road Again

My girlfriend and I are going up to Bellingham this weekend with her parents to do a kayaking trip for their birthdays. I completely forgot this when I set my goal last week of eating EVERY MEAL made entirely by me, from scratch.

Oops.

I normally would have stocked up on snack bars, dried fruit, and nuts. But those snack bars have tons of stuff in them, so gluten can more easily sneak in, plus I’ve got other allergies. And I found out that nothing in bulk can be guaranteed gluten free. Packaged fruit and nuts are rather expensive (and I’m a poor social worker).

I decided to figure out tasty satisfying food that wouldn’t need much refrigeration.

I already had the carob cookies I made last night in honor of Mikey. I got organic strawberries, nectarines, apples, and oranges.

20110813-032532.jpg

Rather than buy prepackaged baked tofu with soy sauce (aka wheat), I sliced up tofu, marinated it over night in my amazing teriyaki sauce, then baked it at 375 for 45 minutes.

Yuri’s Amazing Teriyaki Sauce:
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup wheat free soy sauce
1/4 tsp garlic powder (fresh is better but it upsets my stomach)
1/2-1 tsp finely grated fresh ginger (it’s easiest if you put ginger in the freezer – stays fresh and easy to grate)

20110813-033332.jpg
Tofu about to go into the oven

I sliced tempeh about a little less than 1/4 inch thick, coated in oil, then baked at 350 for 50 minutes. Then sprinkled them with sea salt. My GF’s parents scarfed them down, and asked how I got them to taste like bacon!

20110813-033906.jpg

Today, for lunch, while my GF and her folks ate Dick’s burgers and fries (those fries are sooooo hard to resist! but you know they were in the same frier as the onion rings), I had myself a little bento picnic: tempeh strips, chirashi sushi, and organic orange tomatoes, carrots and snow peas.

20110813-034351.jpg

Chirashi sushi (aka “scattered” sushi)

2cups cooked sushi rice (short grain Japanese rice. The better quality you get, the better the sushi! I like Koda)
1/2 Tablespoon seasoned rice vinegar (must be seasoned! Get one without msg)
1/3 cup cooked edamame (shelled, not in pods. Bring largish pot of salted water to boil, throw in beans, bring back to boil, cook til tender not squishy (3-5 min), drain, rinse in cold water til cool, salt to taste)
3 thinly sliced seasoned cooked shiitake mushrooms (rinse dried mushrooms, put in pot with water to just cover, add brown sugar and soy sauce to taste (~1/4 tsp brown sugar, ~1 tsp soy sauce), simmer til soft)
4 inari pockets, thinly sliced

Make sure rice is warm. Mix in vinegar. Taste. Add more vinegar or rice, til it tastes like you like it. Add all other ingredients, mix. When mixing rice don’t mash it, cut in with the rice paddle/wooden spoon and flip.

It was a lovely lunch! Especially with cookies and strawberries for dessert! I was completely stuffed, but in a good way. And I still probably ate half the calories the GF and parents had with their burgers, fries and shakes.

I think I can do this road trip thing.

One thought on “On the Road Again

  1. After reading you entry I am hungry for such delicious food!!! Great pics and love the recipes! Thanks, Yuri!

Comments are closed.