Swai fish with butter sherry sage sauce

Okay, so this might sound complicated but it is easy easy easy. And cheap. And delicious! It blows the theoretical designer’s triangle out of the water! (haha, you know that you can only choose two: fast, cheap, or good)

Plus it’s grain free, which is my thing lately. I have heard way too much from other people that are gluten sensitive that they found they react to all grains and seen research that says all grains might be harmful to some people. I am cutting out all grains for now, and will slowly reintroduce them one at a time later.

I don’t know a whole lot about swai except that I really like it and its cheap. I can get it at Safeway on sale for $4 a pound. I fed the three of us today at lunch for about $5 and we had plenty of fish each. Swai is a soft sweet medium-firm mild white fish. It can take on pretty much any flavor. Ally makes an amazing mustard/balsamic vinegar sauce to go on it that makes my knees melt. She also made an onion lime topping that was divine. This is my take on it, that I invented last night and I liked so much that I made it for lunch today!

Filet Ingredients:
3 Swai fish fillets
1.5 Tablespoons unsalted butter
Salt
Garlic powder

Sauce Ingredients:
1/2 cup sherry
1/2 cup sake
(You could just use white wine if you want, but I really like the smoky sweetness of the sherry and the fruitiness of the sake)
1 Tablespoon butter
1 teaspoon fresh sage leaves, chopped fine
Salt
Garlic powder
3/4 cup water
1.5 Tablespoon potato starch

 

In a large non-stick pan (large enough that all three filets can fit without overlapping) over medium high heat, melt the butter. Coat the bottom then add the fish. Sprinkle the filets with salt and garlic powder, however much you like. I do about 1.5 teaspoons of salt and 1 teaspoon of garlic. Cook til starts to brown a little on the bottom, then gently flip over. Sprinkle salt and garlic again. Cook til starts to brown a little on the bottom. Gently remove fish onto individual plates, or serving plate. Don’t worry if there are bits of fish in the pan – that’s good for the sauce!

Put the pan back on the burner and add the sherry, sake, and butter. Let it melt and mix, scrape up any bits from the bottom of the pan. After it starts to darken and thicken (about 2 minutes), add the sage. Cook another 2 minutes or so. Taste it, then add as much salt and garlic powder as you want (I do about 1/2 teaspoon  salt, 1/4 teaspoon garlic, but I really like salt and I really like garlic). Then mix the potato starch (flour, same thing) in the water and add while the pan is on the heat. Mix together quickly. Add more water or more potato starch dissolved in water until it is the desired consistency.

Pour the sauce over the fillets, and enjoy!

(Sorry no pictures, but this is my new determination – to post whether or not I have pictures!)

One thought on “Swai fish with butter sherry sage sauce

Comments are closed.