Chanting makes everything better #chroniclife #Spoonie #mecfs #lyme #blog

I wrote up at 5:30 yesterday. I got out of bed rather than surf the net sad I usually do because a sleep expert I talked to said it was important to do those things NOT in bed, to retain my mind to sleep better in bed. I went to the living room, to lay on the couch. I realized I had not chanted in quite awhile. Having nothing better to do, I sat down in front of my chanting area and began to chant. I only intended to a few minutes, but it felt so good that thirty minutes went by very quickly.

I didn’t think it had done much. I don’t know why I so often forget that even if I don’t notice anything immediately it makes a big impact on my day.

To start with, I then thought, why don’t I do some yoga? I did a gentle morning practice, which was lovely and soothing. Gentle yoga helps lift the crushing fatigue but I’m often too tired to do it. So it was a treat to want to do it so easily.

I got to work a little late. I nap in the car at lunchtime and finding parking that is shaded and private is difficult to find unless I get there early. Almost all the spots were taken… except my favorite one! This was a wonderful “coincidence”.

At work, I got a HUGE amount done. I still didn’t have much energy, but somehow it was easier? more natural? I’m not sure how to explain it. I was able to go from task to task without thinking about it much. And on top of that it was really easy to get a hold of people exactly when I needed them, to get the answers I needed to move on to the next part of the project. People that I have been trying to reach for days, just “happened” to pick up the phone when I called. Not every body, but a lot of them. This reduced my work time and stress load by a LOT, since this project is vitally important for my program to continue and for me to stay employed.

I was still exhausted at the end of the day. It wasn’t all unicorns and glitter. But I want nearly as exhausted as I should have been for how much I did.

The chant I do is Nam Myoho Renge Kyo.

